Last week I did three different stories on the air show and I didn’t get sick of it at all. I had such a good time honoring veterans and seeing the community come out to enjoy a good time on the Columbia Regional tarmac. When I was thinking of my story, I didn’t know what angle to take, but then I realized there were 3000 volunteers that made the air show happen.

20160528_AirShow_KW_132

Kelsey Walling/Missourian Two demonstrators from the SkyHawks, the Canadian military parachute team, perform a formation called Candy Cane at the 28th annual Salute to Veterans Airshow at Columbia Regional Airport on Saturday, May 28, 2016. The SkyHawks performed six different formations during their performances and will be at the air show for the rest of the weekend. 

All the volunteers I talked to had their own reasons for attending, but they all wanted to come together to help honor those who gave up everything. It is always so great to meet new people and really learn about who they are. I have definitely learned a lot about aviation-haha. You can read my story on these awesome volunteers here.